Tuesday, November 28, 2023
HomeCricketAustralia announces 18-man squad for Border-Gavaskar Trophy - SBB Times

Australia announces 18-man squad for Border-Gavaskar Trophy – SBB Times


Australia has finalized an 18-member squad for the upcoming Border-Gavaskar Trophy in India, which is scheduled to begin on February 9. Four spinners have been included in India’s squad by the visitors, with rising star Todd Murphy competing with Mitchell Swepson and Ashton Agar as Nathan Lyon’s spin partner.

Australian team

Peter Handscomb has also been recalled to the Test squad for the first time since January 2019 and will join the list of reserve batsmen alongside Matt Renshaw. Marcus Harris has been dropped from the team. Uncapped fast bowler Lance Morris has managed to retain his place in the team and could make his Test debut in India with Mitchell Starc missing the opening Test in Nagpur.

Read also: Jos Buttler hits Jofra Archer for a six in SA20 2023

All-rounder Cameron Green is also facing a crunch of time to regain fitness for the first Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy after suffering an injury during the Boxing Day Test against South Africa. Young spinner Murphy has also been included in the squad after impressive performances for Victoria, Australia A and the Prime Minister’s XI over the past year.

Todd Murphy
todd murphy receives a call-up

Speaking about the inclusion of the 22-year-old on Cricket Australia’s official website, selection committee chairman George Bailey said Murphy has shown great progress in recent times, impressing on the domestic circuit and has developed a reputation as a strong spinner. has emerged. alternative.

Commenting on the same, George Bailey said, “Todd Murphy has made rapid strides in domestic cricket and more recently impressed with Australia A. With those performances Todd has emerged as a strong spin option. “

Read also: R Ashwin reveals his thoughts on becoming the Indian captain

He added, “Selection in this squad provides another opportunity to spend time in India with Nathan Lyon and assistant coach Daniel Vettori which will be invaluable to their development.”

Australia’s Test squad for India tour: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc) , Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Source link

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular