Thursday, July 11, 2024
HomeCricketRanji Trophy - Prithvi Shaw's 379, Punjab's Baazball, Dhruv Shorey's Golden Run

Ranji Trophy – Prithvi Shaw’s 379, Punjab’s Baazball, Dhruv Shorey’s Golden Run


Mukesh Kumar’s 7 for 99 helped Bengal win by seven wickets in the fourth innings with the help of Sudeep Kumar Gharami and captain Manoj Tiwary’s unbeaten half-century. Bengal took a 78-run lead after Baroda were bowled out for 191 in reply to 269. However, the pace duo of Mukesh and Ishan Porel made a brilliant comeback in the second innings to bowl out Baroda for 98 runs. These two fast bowlers took Baroda’s first seven wickets and bundled them out for 39 for seven. Opener Pratyush Kumar fought back, scoring an unbeaten 62, but ran out of partners. Bengal were then 53 for 3 chasing 177, but Gharami (76*) and Tiwary (60*) saw them home on the final day. With this win, Bengal moved to the top of the Group A standings.

Prithvi Shaw’s record triple helped Mumbai beat Assam by an innings

Shaw made the second highest ever Ranji Trophy score, and the highest ever for a Mumbai batsman, with 379 runs from 383 balls. His knock helped Mumbai knock out Assam in Group B by an innings and 128 runs. Batting first, Mumbai declared at 687 for 4, with skipper Ajinkya Rahane also contributing 191 runs. In reply, four wickets from Shams Mulani restricted Assam to 370. Way for a three. The win kept Mumbai second in the Group B points table, three points behind Saurashtra.

Hyderabad weather is going from bad to worse

In another disappointing performance from Hyderabad, they were blown out by an innings and 57 runs by Saurashtra inside two days in a Group B encounter at Hyderabad. Jaydev Unadkat and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja took three wickets each to bundle out the hosts for 79 in the first innings after Hyderabad elected to bat. In reply, Saurashtra scored 327 in 68.3 overs to take a 248-run lead despite left-arm spinner Anikethreddy taking seven wickets. Hyderabad fared slightly better in their second innings, but still fell short and were bowled out for 191, with Jadeja taking four wickets and Unadkat taking three. The entire match lasted just 146 overs.

This is Hyderabad’s fourth consecutive defeat in the Ranji Trophy this season. So far they have a solitary point after five games, and are at the bottom of Group B and are in danger of being relegated to the Plate Group.

Dhruv Shourie’s Golden Run and Delhi’s Rescue Act

Even though the game was marred by the loss of more than 90 overs due to bad light, Delhi and Andhra fought for first innings scores on the final day. It turned out to be an eventful one, which saw an unbeaten last-wicket partnership of 65 runs between Delhi’s number 10 and 11, Harshit Rana and Divij Mehra, which helped them earn three points compared to Andhra’s one.
Batting first at the Arun Jaitley Stadium, five half-centuries helped Andhra declare at 459 for 9. In reply, Dhruv Shorey (185) continued his fine form to register his third 150-plus score of the season. He was well supported by Himmat Singh, who scored his maiden first-class century, but looked like he was going to fall short of Andhra’s total when Himmat was run out for 104, and Delhi were 423 for 9, still 36 short. But Rana and Mehra stepped up to help their side take the lead, and provided some hope in a campaign that has been in turmoil on and off the field. They are now seventh in the Group B table, just above Hyderabad.

Punjab scored 205 runs in 24.5 overs

A game that was heading towards a draw was enlivened by a brilliant onslaught from opener Abhishek Sharma, whose 47-ball 83 helped Punjab win at 8.45 per over against Jammu and Kashmir late on the last day of Group D. Accordingly 205 runs were chased. Khel Baltej Singh took 10 off 92 with the help of two five fours in Mohali to get the match haul as Punjab had around 38 overs to chase. With light also being an issue, a draw would have been the likely outcome, but the Punjab batsmen brought their own version of baseball to stun J&K. Abhishek hit nine fours and four sixes and by the time he fell, Punjab were 133 for three in 16 overs. While Abid Mushtaq picked up four wickets, he was not able to stop the run flow and skipper Mandeep Singh’s 45 not out set the stage for 39 runs.

Pandey, Gaikwad, Vijay among the run-scorers

  • Leading run-scorer after five rounds (Elite)Shorey (Delhi): Nine innings, 787 runs, average 112.42, three centuries, two half-centuries. plateTaruvar Kohli (Mizoram): Nine innings, 602 runs, average 66.88, two centuries, three half-centuries.
  • Leading Wicket Taker (Elite)Saxena (Kerala): 43 wickets in 10 innings at 15.88, five five fours, two 10 fours. plate: Rajesh Bishnoi (Meghalaya): 32 wickets in ten innings, average 14.53, four five fours

    - Advertisment -spot_img

    Most Popular