Tuesday, July 9, 2024
HomeCricketShreyas Iyer ruled out of ODI series against New Zealand due to...

Shreyas Iyer ruled out of ODI series against New Zealand due to back injury


India’s middle-order batsman Shreyas Iyer has been ruled out of the ODI series against New Zealand due to a back injury. In his place, Madhya Pradesh and RCB batsman Rajat Patidar has been included in the team.

It is learned that Iyer had complained of stiffness in his back soon after the final ODI against Sri Lanka on Sunday. Keeping in mind that he is part of the Test squad for the series against Australia in February, the BCCI medical staff asked him to go to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru as a precautionary measure. Iyer, who reached the NCA on Monday, is to rejoin the Indian team in Nagpur for a preparatory camp ahead of the first Test against Australia on February 9.

Iyer scored 28, 28 and 38 while batting at number 4 in India’s 3–0 win in the ODI series against Sri Lanka. He is India’s second-highest run-scorer in ODIs since 2022 behind Shubman Gill, with 818 runs at an average of 51.12 and a strike rate of 92.95.

Patidar is yet to make his international debut in his place in the ODI team. The 29-year-old Patidar was part of the squad for the ODI series in Bangladesh last December but did not get a chance. He has 1648 runs in 51 List A games at an average of 34.33 and a strike rate of 97.45.

Iyer’s absence could give Suryakumar Yadav a chance to score runs consistently in the ODI team. Suryakumar played only the third ODI against Sri Lanka, scoring 4 runs in 4 balls at No.6.

India’s first ODI against New Zealand is in Hyderabad on January 18, followed by matches in Raipur (January 21) and Indore (January 24).

India’s updated ODI team against New Zealand
Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Rajat Patidar, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav , Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Umran Malik.


- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular