Saturday, July 20, 2024
HomeCricketTV umpire faces heat after controversial dismissal of Hardik Pandya - SBB...

TV umpire faces heat after controversial dismissal of Hardik Pandya – SBB Times


Team India will face New Zealand in the first match of the three-match series at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. The TV umpire of the match, KN Ananthapadmanabhan faced a lot of criticism for his decision of the controversial dismissal of Indian all-rounder, Hardik Pandya.

tv umpire
TV umpire gave out to Hardik Pandya

Earlier in the game, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bat first on a dry looking pitch. India made three changes compared to the previous ODI against Sri Lanka and all were forced to make changes as Axar Patel, KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer were replaced by Shardul Thakur, Hardik Pandya and Ishan Kishan.

Read also: Ian Healy feels India made unfair pitches for Australia in 2017

There was widespread disbelief among cricket fans and even in the commentary box when Hardik Pandya was given out by the TV umpire in the 40th over of the innings. TV replays clearly showed to many that the ball had missed the stumps and it was clear that the wicketkeeper’s gloves were hitting the stumps, causing the bails to shine.

However, after checking for a long time, the third umpire decided to give Hardik out, which angered the cricket lovers. Hardik scored 28 off 38 balls and with Shubman Gill scoring a brilliant hundred, India looked set to cross the 300-run mark.

Watch the video of Hardik Pandya’s dismissal here:

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

Read also: Virat Kohli and Mohammed Siraj have made huge jumps in the ICC rankings

New Zealand (Playing XI): Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (c & wk), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Lockie Ferguson, Blair Tickner

Indian fans reacted to the dismissal like this:

Source link

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular